Academy Council


Governance within a multi-academy trust

Bristol Metropolitan Academy is part of the Cabot Learning Federation, a multi-academy trust that is responsible for a number of academies across Bristol,
South Gloucestershire and North Somerset. Governance for a multi-academy trust operates at two levels. At trust level, there is a Board of Directors. The
directors are accountable to the Department for Education and external government agencies, including the Charity Commission, for the quality of the
education the trust provides and the effective use of the associated academy funding. They are required to have systems in place through which they can
assure themselves of quality, financial probity, safety and good practice. The Board is provided assurance on a number of these areas through various subcommittees, as shown in the diagram below.

At a local level, each academy has an Academy Council comprising of up to 13 Academy Councillors. Academy Councils are responsible for holding Principals
and their leadership teams to account for the quality and effectiveness of the academic experience of the students under their care with the aim of securing
effective school improvement. They do this through monitoring performance against an annual academy improvement plan, through monitoring risks and
responses to risks, and by overseeing systems and processes for the safeguarding of children and the health, safety and wellbeing of academy staff.

Similar to a Governing Body, the role of the Council is primarily to support and scrutinise the activities of the Academy to ensure the highest standards are achieved for students and staff alike. Each Academy Council plays a full role in monitoring the delivery of outstanding teaching across the Federation. We are very fortunate to have a dedicated team of experienced colleagues in the Bristol Metropolitan Academy Council from a wide range of backgrounds who are passionate about supporting the Academy.

Since September 2016 the Chair for the Academy Council is Sam Lusardi.

“I’m privileged to be the Chair of Academy Council of Bristol Metropolitan Academy. Our Council team has a range of functions and includes representatives from the staff body of the school and from parent. Each Councillor has a link role to a particular area of school life, but our work is underpinned by one key focus: to hold the Principal and her team to account for the quality of education provided for all students at Bristol Met. In our meetings we look in detail at how students of all ages and abilities perform across the year and challenge and support the Principal to ensure that outcomes are the best they can be.”

Academy Councillors

Chair – Sam Lusardi
Sponsor Councillor – Martin Neary
Sponsor Councillor – Sky Westwood

Parent Councillor – Jenny Bourne
Staff Councillor – Helen Harman
Teacher Councillor – Ceri O’Sullivan
BMA Principal – Cameron Shaw
Student Advocate – Nigel Cooley
Clerk to the Council – Sue Burns
If you wish to contact a member of the council please contact the Clerk to the Council:
Letter: c/o Bristol Metropolitan Academy, Snowdon Road, Fishponds, Bristol, BS16 2HD.